Smooth bottom layer

Modified_Gemini

Posted · Smooth bottom layer

I feel like im beating a dead horse in the mouth with this topic. Ive tried searching and found most of the same and nothing that displays this problem and I feel these are software issues.

I have a Monoprice Maker Select, now using Cura 2.3.0 Ive been printing for quite a few months now. My print bed is level, slight drag of a piece of paper, and holds level pretty good. I print directly on glass with hair spray and with a raft i don't have any problem with adhesion.

Im trying to get off of printing on a raft to create a smooth surface. So after a bit of googling it finally made sense to me, raise temp and increase flow rate to fill the gaps. Duh!! So I played around with the tweak at Z. Raise heat to 235, and extrude rate to 125%. But here is where problems came. Not much to understanding the gcode, so when i started looking at it between different settings, I found there is a layer 0. Layer "0" is completely normal in the computer world, but it appears to be a skirt/brim layer that does not say so. So when I try to tweak layer 0 I get this.

;LAYER:0

M106 S255.000000

G1 F1500.000000 E-1.00000

G0 F2160.00000 X93.355 Y93.359 Z0.200

;TweakAtZ V5.1: executed at Layer 0

M117 Printing... tw@L 0

M104 S235.000000 T0

M221 S125.000000

;TweakAtZ V5.1: reset below Layer 0

M104 S210.000000 T0

M221 S-1.000000

;TYPE:WALL-INNER

So it does the tweak, but immediately reverts settings, plus my machine shows only a 25% flow rate, because of the "M221 S-1.0". Problem 1 (it took me a couple frustrated months to realize this, believing I kept clogging up, because somewhere down the line I realized a certain combination of other settings also reset the flow to 25%(more bugs?) )