Failed prints. Electronics error?

Sealcat

Posted (edited) · Failed prints. Electronics error?

Hello!

I'm fairly new to the magical world of 3D-printing and recently bought a used Ultimaker 2 with the intent of upgrading it to a 2+ some day.

From the start I had problems with feeder skipping, I managed to get at couple decent prints but the support structures (auto generated from cura) was always stringy and had small holes in it, and larger prints (10+ hours) failed as the filament stopped extruding. I tried incresing temperature, increasing the feeder tension slightly, lowering speed and cleaning both the feeder and the nozzle with no noticable difference.

So, I switched the PTFE-coupler and the filament to a brand new roll of colorfabb white PLA, but the problems actually seem to have gotten worse. The feeder doesn't tick quite as often, but it stops extruding despite a seemingly clean nozzle.

I've managed a 6 hour print at most. Could the something else be worn out, or is there a clog somewhere despite doing the athomic method? Does the problem simply lie with the settings? In what end should I begin?

5a3323ebb8663_badprint2.thumb.jpg.17347f7ffd8ed70d4670571d581fb2dd.jpg5a3323eebeed8_badprint.thumb.jpg.f6303a516e46bc253c29385f2ff176fc.jpg

3 hours in on a 10 hours print, standard Ultimaker 2 PLA-settings. 210 C, 60 C bed, 60 mm/s, 100% fan.

What I'm most concerned about though is something weird the printer does at intial startup, the screen flickers in blue for a few seconds and a high-pitched screeching is heard. Could there be a problem with the electronics, and is something like that even possible to fix?

A video of how it looks: http://tinypic.com/r/no659i/9

I'm at a loss how to tackle these problems.

Any help would be much appreciated!

5a3323ebb8663_badprint2.thumb.jpg.17347f7ffd8ed70d4670571d581fb2dd.jpg

5a3323eebeed8_badprint.thumb.jpg.f6303a516e46bc253c29385f2ff176fc.jpg

Edited by Guest

Posted · Failed prints. Electronics error?