Autodesk Maya Gcode Exporter using Cura.

brictone

Posted · Autodesk Maya Gcode Exporter using Cura.

I'm not sure if there are many around these parts that use Maya to model and create objects for printing but it's one of my favorite tools. Since it has very powerful scripting capabilities with Python and MEL, I decided to learn Python to call up Cura and slice up my object and save my gcode files ready for my Ultimaker printer. There's quite a bit more I can do with this but, I'm just not a seasoned programmer coming from the artist world. If anyone is interested in using something like this lemme know and I can try and package up the python script. Here's a screen shot of the window interface. And don't get me wrong Cura is great... it just doesn't have the capabilities that a 13+ year old leading special effects software package does.

cura-Export-Window.jpg

If you're interested, I went into a little more detail on my site. http://www.bg3d.com/archives/1101

So yeah, Lemme know what you think.

• 10 months later...

Hi,

I use maya every now and then and would like to try that script out if possible :O . I own the newer model but I think should work, too. Let me know if there is a way to get the script.

Kind regards

And don't get me wrong Cura is great... it just doesn't have the capabilities that a 13+ year old leading special effects software package does.

And it never will. cura is not a modelling/CAD package, it's a slicer (or processor as daid likes to call it). It's sole purpose in life is to create Gcode, something that 13+ year old software of yours needs cura's help to do ;)

I was using maya to position the model on the platform but I think Cura has made that easy as well by just sticking it on the platform at the origin. I was also using Maya to merge and mold multiple geometry together to make a water tight STL. Cura now makes it a easy and slices multiple objects together without creating cavities. There's some options with that too.