Vertical walls are very slanted

prinknash

Posted · Vertical walls are very slanted

I'm brand new to Ultimaker. On all my prints, vertical surfaces slant significantly (11 degrees) towards the negative x direction as they build up. In the y direction, they are nice and vertical. Any clues on what's wrong?

Most likely you have loose pulleys on the X-axis mechanism. Be sure and tighten the motor and belt pulleys.

While you are doing that, check that the head moves relatively easily by hand when the machine is powered off, in both X and Y directions. If it feels tighter in one direction, or stickier in some parts of the bed, then make sure that everything is square, and lubricate the rods with a little light oil (e.g., sewing machine oil). You might also try loosening the end caps on the rods a little, and see if that makes the head easier to move - sometime the end caps can bind on the ends of the rods.

Thanks for the ideas. I've checked them out.

The pulleys are very tight. I can't find slip anywhere in them. The head moves easily, and with the same amount of force in both the x and y directions and over the whole bed. The amount of slant is constant and seems to keep going (tallest part I've made is 2 inches so at 11 degrees, that's a 0.4 inch offset at the top. It seems there must be some slip somewhere to keep accumulating but it's only in one direction and on one axis and very consistent, meaning straight sides are very straight but slanted.

Obviously I'm stumped.

The only "true" way to check if the pulleys are properly secured is by putting a mark on them and on the axes, and see if they do not move independently. The pulleys can feel secured but could be a tiny bit lose, as you only have a tiny bit of slanting.