What's your favorite calibration print?

Posted · What's your favorite calibration print?

Hello, my name is Olivier. I just order an Ultimaker kit this weekend, now I just have to wait. In the meantime, I'm gathering as much documentation and info as possible. I already have a list of upgrades to print, I'm learing about Cura, Marlin, temperatures, infills, stepping... as much as I can, even if for now it's just theory.

I'm a 3d modeller, that's my job, I work in cinema animation for a living, my objective it to print my own characters and I know it's going to be a long way before I can achieve that. I know it will take a lot of tuning.

That's why I'm asking, what is the object you generally print when you want to test your setting? There are many "calibration" things on thingiverse, but that's the problem, there are too many, and most of the time they are very specific, to test one thing only(retraction, overhang, levels...) I know those test objects are not as representative as a real "production" print, but I guess you guys don't print a 20cm tall yoda for every temperature tweak.

So I was wondering, what is the small object you print when you want to check if everything is ok before starting a 10 hours print?

Sorry if I'm not asking this is the right section or if it has already been answered ten times.

thank you, Olivier

I actually like using Yoda at half scale and hollow with several perimeters to check filament settings as it gives a variety of quick movements, single walls in the ears, overhangs, and there are distinct features to be recognized. Plus, the print ends up as a product, not just a widget (Kids love it if you toss them a Yoda figurine and say Merry Christmas).

All of them :-) I just print random stuff to test my printer, settings, and software tweaks (then again, I develop the software, so doing lots of different things is important for me)