How to force Cura to slice the platform slab

mihan

Posted · How to force Cura to slice the platform slab

Hello,

I am new to 3D printing, therefore would appreciate any help how to force Cura to properly slice my model. As an architect I am modelling the structure in Revit, than exporting it into STL file and then slicing in Cura 13.04. I have 2 problems: first I can't force Cura to slice the platform slab with the walls. I can make separate model of the slab and separate model of the vertical walls, but not together... The STL is scaled in Cura to represent exact M 1:100 scale and here comes the second problem: the inner walls should be (after scaling) exactly 1,5 mm thick: how to configure Cura to print them as strong as possible? For better orientation I am attaching JPG for anybody willing to help me how to work this problem out. If there is need for STL or other files, I can post them too.

Thank you for any help in advance.

Mike

P.S. Would you, please, go here to look at the pictures:

http://umforum.ultimaker.com/index.php?/gallery/album/71-mikes-slab-problem/

I'm new too, but I've done some design in OpenSCad and your first problem sounds as though the software is confused because the bottom of wall is merely touching the top of the slab, rather than projecting into it to make it a once piece solid.

To make the walls as strong a possible use 100% infill.

Mike.

Hi Mike -

Welcome to the forums, and to 3D printing!

Are you sure Cura hasn't sliced the base? I think the latest Cura doesn't necessarily show solid infill layers at the bottom of the print when showing all of it - it's a display efficiency optimization, I think. Use the slider on the right of the 3D view pane to step back to the first layers, and see if the base layers show up when just viewing the start of the print.