UM3 vs Prusa

OOC

Hello all,

I am looking to get another printer. Currently I have a Prusa i3 MK2. I am still very new to printing. So far I haven’t had the best of luck with the Prusa.

Can someone tell me what I would gain or what would be the difference between the two and what benefits I would gain with going with a UM3.

So far all the videos I have watched on the UM3 have been great. I currently have the money to purchase one but before I pay the money I thought I would try to get some input from people who use this machine.

Thank you for your time

24 minutes ago, OOC said:

How well does the support feature work because I am really interested in getting involved in that.

Supports work very well.  One of the reasons I got my UM3E was for handling some prints where I wanted supports.   I've worked with both PVA and Breakaway and they both work nicely.  One thing to be aware of is that not all support materials work with all print materials.  The Ultimaker material resource guide (https://ultimaker.com/en/resources/manuals/materials) is a useful starting point to know what is possible (though I'm sure it's possible to push beyond the boundaries mentioned in the guide).

9 hours ago, OOC said:

So far I haven’t had the best of luck with the Prusa.

I have a Prusa as well.   It's a very good machine.  I'm curious what issues your having.

Something to keep in mind:  There is no magical 3D printer that just magically prints without issue.  They all present a learning curve, they all  have issues, even an expensive beast like an Ultimaker.   So if your having trouble printing with the Prusa, you might run into issues with the Ultimaker that frustrate you as well.

Having said that, once you  learn how to work your printer, they will serve you well.  Despite the few frustrations I've had with my Ultimaker I like it very much and it is my 'go-to' machine for many prints.

• Like 1

Posted · UM3 vs Prusa

Kcel,