Newbie with a UM3 getting bad prints

DanielUM3

Posted · Newbie with a UM3 getting bad prints

Hi Everyone,

Im new to the world of 3D printing, my company purchased this printer before i joined and now im trying to use it without any training.

However im a trained engineer so i should be able to follow your advice.

I tried to print a test part and i noticed several issues with the print, can anyone help me correct them?

See the photos below and my questions, any other comments are welcome.

1. Lots of random bits of extrude on the base plate, is this normal?
  2. Layers arent sticking together on the part, why is this happeneing?
  3. There is extrusion sticking out the side of the part, what is causing this?

Thanks very much,

Daniel

20180828_135638.jpg

20180828_151256.jpg

20180828_151448.jpg

20180828_151513.jpg

Wow!  That's some serious splitting.  Okay first you need to figure out what kind of plastic this is.  I'm guessing it's ABS and you are printing with PLA settings.  ABS prints best with very little or zero fan.  Try setting the fan to the minimum where the fans still rotate (assuming this is ABS) also make sure Cura is doing ABS settings.  Also cover the front and top of the printer.  You need to get the air up to 35C and the bed up to 110C and you can't do eithe without covering the front and top.  Really you should avoid ABS as there are much better materials out there.  Like PLA which is much easier to print and doesn't need any of the above advice.

Hi gr5,

Thanks for the advice, i followed your instructions and the print came out much better.

However it still has some issues, some of these may just be my misconceptoons.

The part still has light splitting although it looks like its just on the surface because it feels quite strong.

How can i improve this?

Also there is still pieces of material protruding from the part in random places, is this normal?