Parts of my model greyed out?

doron

Posted · Parts of my model greyed out?

Hello folks,

I'm relatively new to Cura (and 3D printing in general) but learning fast.

I'm loading a model into Cura (3.4.1). It's a set of chess pieces so it includes multiple unconnected objects. Upon loading, some (6) of the pieces turn grey and do not go into the sliced gcode.

Trying to figure this out I moved those pieces around on the simulated bed - and when moved to some other sub-area of the bed, they suddenly turn yellow.

To me this could mean that the bed size definition is wrong (too small); however looking at the printer config the bed side looks just fine (240x340 mm), and anyway the grey pieces are so far from the edge of the bed that it must be something else. And the bed is drawn in the Cura UI, quite nicely and perfectly.

I must be missing another setting - having to do with Cura, my printer or the model itself - but I can't figure out what it is. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Which printer do you use? Depending on the (Ultimaker) printer, Cura preserves a "safe" area for the extrusion of material at the start of a print or for switching between two materials (if you use an Ultimaker 3).

Other settings can influence this safe areas too, like "Build Plate Adhesion -> Brim/Skirt".

Switch from "Solid View" to "Layer view" (top right). This way you can see the print preview for each layer. Move ot the first layer (slider under the Layer view dropdown).

Hi @Nicolinux, thanks for the quick response!

I'm using a non-Ultimaker printer (sorry about that ? ), it's a Tevo Black Widow (I hope it is still okay to ask these questions here).

The printer appears to be configured properly and the bed size seems to be okay. 

I'm using neither a skirt nor brim for this print (I have good bed adhesion).