Brim line width insufficient

Crusty

Posted · Brim line width insufficient

I am new to 3D printing and use an entry level Anet A8 with increasing success the more practice I get. I use a 0.4mm nozzle, now at 205deg.C and the bed at 70deg.C, these settings seem to work well with my PLA on a glass bed with extra firm hold hairspray.

I designed a component with an 8mm wide brim which seemed to print very satisfactorily, the brim being a quite sturdy solid mass which measures between 0.31 and 0.37mm thick. The brim has 10 growth rings visible which are all fused together and 0.8mm wide each. I printed off two of these components and then my son had a look at my computer which was taking a long time to boot up. He identified the problem as being caused by Cura 4.0 which  I must confess, after an awkward installation, seemed to tie up with the time at which the computer was playing up. He uninstalled Cura and reinstalled it after which the brim of this component would no longer print as before. It was now printing a brim with 20 lines each 0.4mm wide, the lines would not fuse together so adhesion was not good enough to hold.

I delved a little more into the workings of Cura and found that as there was no template for an Anet A8 printer I had to specify my own custom printer and settings, taking advice from the fly out message boxes for each individual setting. I have set all line widths to 0.4mm except the brim line width which I set to 0.8mm and the initial layer line width at 100%, which seems to be the default setting. If I increase that to 200% then the box just turns orange so I left it at the default of 100%. The brim speed is 30mm/sec and the brim line count sets itself automatically to 10 for an 8mm brim width. All would seem well with no reason why it should not print these components as it did before the re-installation. However it now prints a brim of 10 single separated lines which measure up between 0.24 and 0.27mm diameter.