No support added for overhang

fotastisch

Posted · No support added for overhang

Hi there,

I'm quite new to 3D printing and Cura, so I guess I'm missing something obvious.

I want to print the part attached and I would like the fillet to have support, but Cura does not create any. Although it shows a red indication (I think that indicates overhangs, right?), I just cannot get it to add support, especially in these areas. Also brims are not attached to the part but have a distance from it, like skirts. Do you have an idea why this might be?

The part and mesh were created with FreeCAD.

I'm very happy for any help!

Best,

Fo

base_test.stl

Are you printing with a single material? Or with a dual extruder with the support being the 2nd material?

If I slice it for dual printing, it produces support for the lower part of the fillet.

If I slice for single material, it shows the brim going right up to the base, but then there is a gap before the support of the central area. This is because of the x/y offset from edges.

The typical settings for support are for overhangs that are more than a 60° angle from vertical. Your fillet would only want support for 1-2 layers before the angle is less than that. Support also leaves a little space between the top of support and the bottom of the thing being supported so that it is easier to remove the support. Thus, there's not really room to print any support other than the brim.

If you dial the support angle to an absurdly low number, like 10°, then it will show a small amount of support.

Hi!

Thanks for your help, @johnse. Based on your answer I think I found my problem and possibly also a solution.

I am printing on a Mega-S, therefore I imported this Cura profile (it's in the files): https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3409767