Help with Settings

canozerdem

Posted · Help with Settings

Hi Guys

Im currently an architecture student and was thinking of 3D printing a model this week. I have attached a sketchup image of the model I will be 3d printing but was wondering if anyone would want to help me with the best quality settings for a Ultimaker 2+ 3d printer. This will be used for my final presentation thus I would want it to look as crisp as possible however I have never used the 3D printers before. 

3D printer.obj

I was thinking something along the lines of 

Profile 0.1

Infil 20%

Support: Enabled 

Adhesion: Disabled 

Quality Layer Height: 0.1mm

Shell Wall Thickness: 1.05mm

Wall Line Count: 3

Top Bottom Thickness: 0.8mm

Top Thickness: 0.8mm

Top Layers: 8

Bottom Thickness: 0.8mm

Bottom Layers: 8

Horizontal Expansion: 0mm

Material: Enable Retraction

Print Speed: 50mm/s

Support: Enabled 

Support Placement: Everywhere

Support Overhang Angle: 50

The best is: make a few test models that have all typical features of your models. And then print them with various settings, to see the difference. Make them small enough so they don't waste endless amounts of time and material, but not too small, so the models still gets enough cooling (=without the hot nozzle sitting constant on top of the same place).

Further: print slower and cooler than standard. This will give better corners. How slow and how cool depends on the model and material, and layer-thickness, so you have to try. For PLA, try something like 25...30mm/s and 200°C, and adjust from there. Unless this would go too slow and take too much time.

Try all layer thicknesses and see which works best for your models. But 0.3mm goes 5x faster than 0.06mm. So, printing at 25mm/s and 0.06mm layers is 10x slower than 50mm/s and 0.3mm layers. Hence the need for relatively small test models.