Why is there a 3 layer gap in support for horizontal hole?

dodado

Posted (edited) · Why is there a 3 layer gap in support for horizontal hole?

I'm new to Cura. I'm slicing a model with a 5mm horizontal hole, and using supports at around 55 degrees.  I tried the default setting for zig-zag for 0.3mm layer height and 0.4mm nozzle, 15% density, but there is a 3 layer gap in the support so that 50% of it is floating in the air.  Is this normal behavior?

I tried switching to line support, and adjusted the density to 20-25% to try to get the line in the center of the hole.  Off to the side, another line is generated which has part of it floating in the air too, by 1 layer.

Untitled-1.gif

Untitled-2.gif

Untitled-3.gif

Edited by dodado

Posted · Why is there a 3 layer gap in support for horizontal hole?

I did a little more testing.  With zig-zag set to 10% density, I was able to get rid of the floating support layers, but unfortunately it's an enclosed rectangle.  I was expecting at least 1 side to be open to that it's easier to break it loose.

I also tested the line support, changing the density by 1% increments and each time gives really unexpected results of floating supports with missing layers.  Only a few gave satisfactory results without missing support layers, but I could only do it with 1 line.  Whenever there are 2 lines, the second one always has missing layers.

Untitled-4.gif

Untitled-5.gif

Untitled-6.gif

Untitled-7.gif

Untitled-8.gif

Posted · Why is there a 3 layer gap in support for horizontal hole?

This happens to me a lot too. If this happens, I normally just manually add supports on Tinkercad, or if that's too much work, I just don't do that model. I can't find a way to stop those lines, though, except for increasing the support line distance.

Posted (edited) · Why is there a 3 layer gap in support for horizontal hole?