Is the Ultimaker S5 Pro Bundle the right choice for research?

Dimitriman

Posted · Is the Ultimaker S5 Pro Bundle the right choice for research?

Hello everyone,

I'm a PhD student involved in various research involving 3D printing. We typically 3D print with antibacterial and electrically conductive filaments. My university is about to purchase an S5 Pro Bundle based upon my suggestions, however digging into this community I'm starting to have doubts.

My main doubts surround around the Material Manager, I find that on the Ultimaker Marketplace that no Generic material filaments are compatible with the material manger. This opens up a host of questions, why aren't they compatible and how do I overcome this non-compatibility? I seem to have some answers, you can simply remove the material manager and run a single filament roll...but then why spend the big bucks on the bundle and deal with the hassle? It also appears that most 750g filaments will work on the material manager.

Since we're most interested in using filaments that are not approved, is there a point in getting this pro bundle or do I just stick with the normal S5? 

Thank you! 

To print with the Material Station, you really need a profile for that specific material since the profile controls the cleaning process at the end of the print to make sure that the nozzle is clear and ready for whatever your next material is. If it didn't do the cleaning, and you printed ABS and then tried to print PLA, you'd have under extrusion issues; this process in the firmware/material profile takes care of that. Ultimaker is adding more profiles for the Material Station as the filament manufacturers in the Material Alliance make them available.

Other factors related to Material Station compatibility also include the size of the spool and spool core diameter. If the spool physically does not fit well inside the MS, it's not going to unwind well.