Issues printing with 0.6 and 0.8 nozzles

Posted · Issues printing with 0.6 and 0.8 nozzles

Hello!

I've recently started printing with an Ultimaker 2+ through my new job. I've experimented a whole lot with both PLA and ABS and it's working great for the most part.

However, I'm having some issues with the larger nozzles. If I'm printing something big that doesn't need that much details I'd like to use the 0.6 or 0.8 nozzles to save time, but larger flat layers like the bottom layers tend to distort in a wierd way.

The printer leaves "ditches" or bumps in lines on the surface. My first thought was under/over extrusion, but I figure that since the distortion appear on the same place on every new line that's not the case, and I can raise or lower the speed significantly without making it better nor worse. The kind of symmetrical distortion that happens makes me think it's software related, but I'm fairly new to 3D printing and would need some help to figure out what I'm doing wrong here. 

I've never experienced this with the 0.25 and 0.4 nozzles so far. Even though I had some issues and a lot of trial and error with the 0.25 nozzle to begin with I find it much easier to get good results with now compared to the larger nozzles.

I'm posting an image where you can hopefully see what I mean. Currently printing with ABS, though it doesn't seem to matter if I use that or PLA when it comes to this problem.

Regards, 

Jocke

20200924_132250.thumb.jpg.4f384e8811f11d8ee6826d196564a42b.jpg

Printing with bigger line widths is not so smooth as you know it from the .4 nozzle, but usually after the 2nd or 3rd layer it is gone.

But more important, have you levelled your bed after changing the nozzle? Maybe you are too close to the glass?