Jump to content
Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts

Scaling factor shrinkage compensation under


Recommended Posts

Posted · Scaling factor shrinkage compensation under

i was trying to set a percentage for deminsion accuracy found "Scaling factor shrinkage compensation" under Preferences, settings, material, howerver it has a note that states "this setting has beenbeen hidden by the active machine and will not be visible. So i added a different machine since i couldn't erase the only machine i had. the new machine had the same note attached so i deleted cura and reinstalled, with no printer set up on a fresh install i still have the same note so i assume (i know assumptions etc) it is a feature that is not actually programed for? or is it? does anyone have a work around?

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Scaling factor shrinkage compensation under

    You can scale the model in Cura.  If shrinkage is 8% then scale the model up 8% and then slice it.

    If you de-select "Uniform Scaling" you can set each axis to a different scale factor.  That could be useful if (for example) you found that a particular infill caused the Z to shrink differently than the X and Y.

    You could also scale the steps/mm of the X, Y, and Z with an M92 line in the beginning of a Gcode file.  Without an M500 to save the changes, they would return to your default values when the printer cycled on and off.  Not all printers allow that though.

    You could scale the model up in the native design software before exporting the STL file and then use the Undo function to negate the change.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites
    Posted · Scaling factor shrinkage compensation under
    12 hours ago, tombmatt said:

    i was trying to set a percentage for deminsion accuracy found "Scaling factor shrinkage compensation" under Preferences, settings, material, howerver it has a note that states "this setting has beenbeen hidden by the active machine and will not be visible. So i added a different machine since i couldn't erase the only machine i had. the new machine had the same note attached so i deleted cura and reinstalled, with no printer set up on a fresh install i still have the same note so i assume (i know assumptions etc) it is a feature that is not actually programed for? or is it? does anyone have a work around?

    It's still disabled because it's not done yet.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...