Problem, infill is not solid, just thin walls inside

Posted · Problem, infill is not solid, just thin walls inside

I’m using the ultimaker cura with an ender 5 pro and I’m having this consistent issue with my print which keeps doing this as seen in the picture. I don’t know why it is doing it. When I use creality, it prints it better but I am using cura because I believe it is better and will give me a better quality print, though I can’t overcome this problem without wasting lots of filament. I have checked my extruded and everything, it is none of that. It is something to do with the software and I am unsure what it is. I am a beginner also.

9B64184D-E778-4A12-AC1E-DA58E45CBA68.jpeg

When the filament gets dragged across the center of a circle like that it's because the current layer isn't sticking to the layer below.  If it's the Initial Layer then it isn't sticking to the bed.

Under the File menu in Cura there is a command "Save Project".  Save your project and post the 3mf file here.  Somebody will take a look.

Have you calibrated the Esteps on the printer?  I ask because of the gaps between the loops that did stick.  That's usually under-extrusion.

Those are fairly small parts with small cross-sections.  Using the .8 nozzle on them is like using a sledge hammer to pound in finish nails.  At a print speed of 80, and a layer height of .32, your hot end has to deliver over 20mm³ of molten plastic per second.  If that's a stock hot end, or a drop-in replacement all-metal hot end, it's no wonder it's under-extruding.  The Ender's (I have a 3 Pro) were designed for flows of around 4.0mm³/sec.

The .8 nozzle is fine for blasting through prints but for those particular parts I think you want to switch back to the .4 nozzle.  The print time for the .4 @ 50mm/sec is 13 minutes.  We've spent more time that that talking about it.

Posted (edited) · Problem, infill is not solid, just thin walls inside