Cura and bed settings for colido 3d 2.0 plus

stestrange82

Posted · Cura and bed settings for colido 3d 2.0 plus

Hi all I'm new to the whole 3d printer world but I'm picking it up slowly.

I've perfected my prints but I'm struggling with the settings for the bed position

My size seems OK but position is incorrect.

The settings fo x min and y min can only be set to zero or a  minus value it won't allow a positive value

I've changed these settings to loads of different things yet it still prints in the same position on the bed any help would be fantastic. 

20210425_195917.jpg

20210425_195949.jpg

Posted (edited) · Cura and bed settings for colido 3d 2.0 plus

OK.  Here we go.  Virtual vs Real vs Useable

Over there is a computer with Cura loaded.  When you tell Cura the "Useable" build plate size in Machine Settings then Cura sets it's virtual build plate to that size.  X0 Y0 is exactly at the left front corner (assuming it is not a Center Origin machine).  

On the other side of the room is a 3d printer.  Neither the printer nor Cura know where the build plate is.

When you Auto-Home the printer it goes to the switches.  The printer now knows where the print head is.  You need to tell it where the build plate is.

When you set the Home Offsets you are telling the printer where a certain X and Y will be over the build plate.  When you level the bed (set the Z gap) you are telling the printer where Z is.  So now the printer has a second X0 Y0 Z0 that it uses to locate the virtual build plate from Cura gcode.  The gcode 0,0,0 will be related to the Home Offset 0,0,0 and the print will show up on the bed and it will be centered.

"Useable Area"

The bed has areas that shouldn't be used.  My plate is physically 235 x 235 but it has a 1mm bevel all around.  Now it's 233 x 233.  I add another 1.5mm all around as a safety and that makes my "Useable Area" 230 x 230 with a border of 2.5mm all around.