Jump to content

Export all profiles and Printers ?


Diplomator

Recommended Posts

Posted · Export all profiles and Printers ?

Hi, 

 

is it possible to export and import all Printers/settings and Profiles ? 

i found the function export but there its only possible to export one Profile by one , 

and not all i have a lot Profiles which i wanna export and save.

 

and how can i export printer profiles ? 

 

regads

Timo

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Export all profiles and Printers ?

    Yes, that should work. In the new installation, go to Help -> Show configuration folder, then quit Cura and replace the files. Don't replace the files while Cura is running.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Export all profiles and Printers ?

    I did it with my whole class once I got printers set up on my computer.  Copied the contents of that folder to flash drive and gave to all of them.  Bam we all had all the printer profiles.  Wish Cura made this an easier process.... Like FFF files in S3D

    • Like 1
    Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Export all profiles and Printers ?

    In Windows, it's %APPDATA%\cura\<version number>

    In Linux, it's ~/.local/share/cura

    On a Mac, it's Macintosh HD\Users\[user_name]\Library\Application Support\cura 

    • Thanks 1
    Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Export all profiles and Printers ?

    HI

    Will this bulk move also work from cura 4.13 to cura 5.5?

     

    Regards

     

    Meir

     

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Export all profiles and Printers ?
    18 minutes ago, mrrcomp said:

    Will this bulk move also work from cura 4.13 to cura 5.5?

    If you're just upgrading Cura on a bunch of computers that are already set up, then Cura should update the profile from the older version automatically, so you just need to install the newer version.

     

    If you have a profile in 4.13 which you need to copy to fresh computers with 5.5, you'll need to install 5.5 first (don't worry, it's happy to live alongside 4.13), run 5.5 once so that it updates the profile to be compatible with the newer version, and copy the settings from 5.5 onto the other computers with 5.5. Cura stores settings for each version in their own folders so it's easy to know which is which.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Export all profiles and Printers ?
    7 hours ago, Slashee_the_Cow said:

    If you're just upgrading Cura on a bunch of computers that are already set up, then Cura should update the profile from the older version automatically, so you just need to install the newer version.

     

    If you have a profile in 4.13 which you need to copy to fresh computers with 5.5, you'll need to install 5.5 first (don't worry, it's happy to live alongside 4.13), run 5.5 once so that it updates the profile to be compatible with the newer version, and copy the settings from 5.5 onto the other computers with 5.5. Cura stores settings for each version in their own folders so it's easy to know which is which.

    Thanks .. cura 5.5 wont run on the machine that currently has the 4.13 (graphic open gl cant be installed) will your process still work? I dont remember  cura 5.5 crashes or just doesnt open. 
    "for each version in their own folders" can you expand on what you mean?

     

    Regards

     

    Meir

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Export all profiles and Printers ?
    6 hours ago, mrrcomp said:

    "for each version in their own folders" can you expand on what you mean?

    image.thumb.png.fcf60a73465e854da7fe94825e5e49bb.png

    That's the %APPDATA%\cura\ folder on my machine. Each version of Cura stores its settings in a different folder. When you install a new version of Cura, it finds the settings folder from the most recent version and copies that (and modifies it to keep it up to date with the latest version if necessary).

     

    6 hours ago, mrrcomp said:

    Thanks .. cura 5.5 wont run on the machine that currently has the 4.13 (graphic open gl cant be installed) will your process still work? I dont remember  cura 5.5 crashes or just doesnt open. 

    Copy your 4.13 profile over to one computer that has 5.5 installed (delete the existing 5.5 profile if it has one), open Cura, it'll grab the settings from 4.13 and make its own 5.5 folder, you then copy that 5.5 folder onto your other computers with 5.5.

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Posted · Export all profiles and Printers ?

    Thanks to all who helped  worked like a charm  🙂

     

     

  • Link to post
    Share on other sites

    Create an account or sign in to comment

    You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

    Create an account

    Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

    Register a new account

    Sign in

    Already have an account? Sign in here.

    Sign In Now
    • Our picks

      • UltiMaker Cura 5.7 stable released
        Cura 5.7 is here and it brings a handy new workflow improvement when using Thingiverse and Cura together, as well as additional capabilities for Method series printers, and a powerful way of sharing print settings using new printer-agnostic project files! Read on to find out about all of these improvements and more. 
         
          • Like
        • 16 replies
      • S-Line Firmware 8.3.0 was released Nov. 20th on the "Latest" firmware branch.
        (Sorry, was out of office when this released)

        This update is for...
        All UltiMaker S series  
        New features
         
        Temperature status. During print preparation, the temperatures of the print cores and build plate will be shown on the display. This gives a better indication of the progress and remaining wait time. Save log files in paused state. It is now possible to save the printer's log files to USB if the currently active print job is paused. Previously, the Dump logs to USB option was only enabled if the printer was in idle state. Confirm print removal via Digital Factory. If the printer is connected to the Digital Factory, it is now possible to confirm the removal of a previous print job via the Digital Factory interface. This is useful in situations where the build plate is clear, but the operator forgot to select Confirm removal on the printer’s display. Visit this page for more information about this feature.
          • Like
        • 0 replies
    ×
    ×
    • Create New...