Newbie alert

Princy557

Posted · Newbie alert

HI

Total newbie to this group, so I might be in the wrong section. Please let me know.

Below is something I found and I notice it has red marking under arms and coat.

What does that mean and how do I sort it. I am assuming that it's nothing to do with the red axis.

Regards

image.thumb.png.ae9aa371ee844c703d368b70a36064e4.png

Posted · Newbie alert

That are overhangs, which means they will need support material to print well, or they will sag a bit while printing if you switch off support. Has nothing to do with X-axis.

See an extreme example in the testmodel below: since there is nothing to support the long overhanging arc, the printer prints in the air, and the extruded sausages do sag. As you can see, the problem starts at a certain angle of overhangs. This angle depends on layer-height, material, temperature. If I would not want this sagging, I would have to switch-on support. Then it would print a sort of construction scaffold below the overhang, to support it.

If you are totally new to 3D-printing, I would recommend that you design or find a couple of test models, and print them with various settings. Keep watching closely while it is printing, so you see exactly what happens. In this way, you will get a lot of understanding and a feel of it, in a short time. It is well-spent time.

image.thumb.png.7275d9cf19f9e8da73bd600958b55bd9.png

• Like 1

Posted · Newbie alert

Hi, Thanks for the reply and help.

I had seen the supports setting, so switched it on, but it has done nothing. (although I have not  tried to print yet).

I have an A20T, (currently not functioning, awaiting new mother board). I was thinking of printing with the Extruder 1 (white) and selecting the extruder 2 (Black) for the support.

But currently stuck and am doing the research to learn about Cura.

I was thinking that the supports would show up on the actual model on the screen?

Regards

Posted · Newbie alert