Failed Print - How to restart at last good position

Posted · Failed Print - How to restart at last good position

I am new to 3D printing and started to print my 1st BIG item on the LONGER LK5 PRO

The print after 80 HOURS of printing while i was away from home somehow failed so badly that the clips from the print bed were found 1/2 way across the room

and the print was printing 1/2 in air and 1/2 on the print. I did manage to salvage the print that has already been done and best guess is that its last positive position was

at or around 254mm, How do i edit the GCODE so it starts at that point FLAT on the bed with supports etc??

Posted · Failed Print - How to restart at last good position

I have a different take.  This part is not good.

"somehow failed so badly that the clips from the print bed were found 1/2 way across the room".

And that happened with the print head at 254?  The print head whacked the print for some reason.  You need to know what happened so you can keep it from happening again.

If the print moved on the build plate you can forget about it.  There just isn't any way to align the failed print so it is right where it was.  The second problem is that very few printers have end stop switches that are repeatable.  The ones on my Ender can be off +-0.25mm.  Then there is the possible rotation about the Z.  Nope.  If it moved on the build plate there is no way.  If the print somehow styed in place and you allowed the build plate to get cold you are in trouble as the print may be ready to pop loose.

If it didn't move then you have a slim chance.