Activating Conan run environment and running CuraEngine from command line

BiLeVi

Posted · Activating Conan run environment and running CuraEngine from command line

I apologize first if this is a super basic question to most, I am currently a computer science student in my last semester before an associate's degree with little knowledge with the command line and python download environments. I also primarily work with Java but have an internship using Python.

I have written a program that is able to take a GCode file and convert it into an SBP file with a python script through a click of a button within a GUI. I have now been tasked with taking in an STL file and using a slicer (Cura) to convert that file into GCode.

I am currently trying to get the CuraEngine (without Cura) to work VIA command line in order to use the subprocess library within Python to do all of theses conversions within my personal GUI. However, the wiki on downloading CuraEngine isn't helping much.

I have been able to achieve installing and building the CuraEngine release, but cannot activate the Conan run environment through the walkthrough of the wiki (https://github.com/Ultimaker/CuraEngine/wiki/Building-CuraEngine-From-Source).

I am getting the error that the pathway (\build\generators\conanrun.sh) is not a recognized internal/external command, operable program, or batch file. When looking up the files within the generators folder, the conanrun file is actually an extension of .bat (conanrun.bat).

So a few questions I have:

• What do I do to get the CuraEngine running on the command line at this point?
  • Would it be easier to just download/run the entire Cura application through the source? I've noticed a lot of others have done that, but I don't want the GUI that goes along with it. I've also had trouble downloading the Cura application from the command line, with ERROR: pynest2d/5.3.0-alpha+testing_0@ultimaker/testing: Error in generate() method showing up in the install.