Longer LK5 Pro Nozzle Settings

matthewsean78
Go to solution Solved by MariMakes,

Posted (edited) · Longer LK5 Pro Nozzle Settings

Hello All,

I am very new to 3D printing.  I have recently purchased a Longer LK5 Pro to dip my toe in the world of 3D printing.  I am interested in changing my nozzle from a 0.4mm to a 0.6mm due to the fact that most things I currently printing do not have intricate details.  I am using Ultimaker Cura version 5.2.2 and I do not see the option to change nozzle size under: preferences, configure cure, printers (select my printer), machine settings, extruder 1 tab.  If someone could help, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,

Matthewsean78

Longer LK5 Pro settings.jpg

Edited by matthewsean78

Posted · Longer LK5 Pro Nozzle Settings

Hey @matthewsean78,

Welcome to the Ultimaker Community 🎉

Since Cura is open source, printer profiles are contributed by community members, or by the 3D printing companies. I can see that the Longer profiles have been contributed by Longer themselves in January of 2021.

I can also see that they included more nozzle sizes, including the 0.6, but they do not seem to have ended up in Cura 😮
    I'll bring it up to the team to see what happened to the profiles. 🙃
    I'll report back if I know more.

• Thanks 1

In the meantime you can install the 0.6 nozzle and set all the Cura "Line Width" settings to "0.6" and set your "Layer Height" to something like 0.3 and you should be able to print well with that 0.6 nozzle.  "Nozzle Size" is a reference...it's the Line Width that counts.  I've pushed my .4 nozzle to .8mm line width with no problems.

I looked at the Longer definition files and it's as @MariMakes says - they defined your printer as having nozzle "variants" but there is only the single nozzle variant at .4mm.  You could add a nozzle file but then you would also need to add Quality files for each material and for each setting "profile".  It gets messy in a hurry.