3D Printer Makes a Loud 'Thudding' noise and then Layer Shifts

Schmordan

Posted · 3D Printer Makes a Loud 'Thudding' noise and then Layer Shifts

I'm printing with an Ender 3 and when printing, after about 40 minutes, it starts to make a thudding noise and layer shifts. I'm suspecting that the thudding noise is from the friction between the nozzle and the print or it's the printer X and Y axis moving really quickly, but I'm not sure. I'm a bit new to 3D printing, but I've printed things way bigger than this and it works. I also kinda want to avoid modding or changing any parts on the mother board.

Posted · 3D Printer Makes a Loud 'Thudding' noise and then Layer Shifts

Hello @Schmordan.

My printer is an Ender 3 Pro so it's pretty close to yours.  Banging and clanging can be caused by a couple off things.

First are the belts.  They should "twang like the strings on a bass guitar." so make sure they are adjusted as well as you can.  If a tooth jumps because of a loose belt you will get an immediate layer shift.

Under the Speed settings in Cura are "Enable Accel Control" and "Enable Jerk Control".  You should enabled them and set all the Accel settings to 500 and all the Jerk settings to 8 (those are the Ender 3 defaults).  More capable machines can take much higher accel numbers but on light duty machines like the Enders, low acceleration can keep the printer from beating itself up with harsh stops and starts.  If you think of Jerk as "Minimum Speed around a Corner" you would not be far off.  Once again, lower numbers are less harsh on the equipment.

On each of the trolleys, one of the wheels is adjustable via an eccentric cam built into the mounting bolt.  The adjustable one is the one with the large hex nut shape while the fixed ones are round.  You should just be able to turn any wheel with your fingers.  If they are too loose then machine accuracy will suffer.  Too tight and the machine has to work too hard to move the axes.  Adjust them as well as you can.