Help with bottom layers.

Kruino
Go to solution Solved by gr5,

Posted · Help with bottom layers.

I'm getting some weird bottom layers from my ultimaker 2 extended. Is it possibly a calibration thing, is the printer just not aligned probably or is it some print settings?

I would like some help if anyone know of the problem. Since I am quite new to 3d printing. Thank you in advance :P

Printer:
ultimaker 2 extended
standard hot end
0.4mm nozzle

20230701_144926.jpg

• Solution

This is called underextrusion and has many many causes but for the bottom layer only, the most common cause by far (95% of the time) is that you have bad leveling.  In otherwords you want the nozzle and bed closer together.  You can prove this by pushing up on the bed while it prints this layer.

You can do the calibration again but I recommend you practice a new trick.  When it's printing the brim, and it's underextruding you want the bed to go up closer to the nozzle so you think about this (don't panic - it's confusing at first) and rotate the 3 screws counter clockwise (as seen from below) equal amounts. It's important to do equal amounts as the bed is hopefully already level.  If one side has more underextrusion than another then you can just raise that screw but that's even more confusing as the 2 corner screws move that corner one way and the opposite corner the other way.

The first 10 times you do this it will be hard and you might not finish before it gets to the print and you'll have to restart.  After doing this for every print (even if it doesn't need it - just for practice) for a while it will come naturally and you'll always automatically turn the screws the right way.