HELP: My Ender 3 is underextruding on small parts of the part.

gorvor

Posted · HELP: My Ender 3 is underextruding on small parts of the part.

As you can see by the picture, everything is fine except for the small tower, which has underextruded. I have tried upping the temperature from 205 to 215, and its not working. I am quite new to this so I'm probably missing something. Anyway, please help soon!

Ender 3 (not pro) with some Compgrow white PLA. 215 Nozzle and 65 bed (Celsius)

I have attached the .stl file as well, just ask me for any more details and I will gladly provide them.

IMG_E0753.JPG

Top_Case.stl

is this only on small parts or also other (less noticeable) places in your model? (like the seam)

Im not an expert, but first places I'd try to test and make sure that are dialed in are temp and retraction. 

Im thinking if the issue is retraction related, you probably would see the issue presenting itself elsewhere in the model. 

Posted (edited) · HELP: My Ender 3 is underextruding on small parts of the part.

I'm a believer in Top Skins telling the story on extrusion.  It could just be shadows in the image but your extrusions on that top skin look rounded and they should be flattened and welded together.  If you have a decent magnifying glass and check out that top skin I think you'll see what I mean.  It looks to be under-extruded by maybe 10%.

Did you calibrate the E-steps on the printer?  CHEP on YouTube has very good videos on the Ender's.

There are some very fine features on the model and the model itself is small.  I like the look of the preview much better with a 0.3 nozzle.

Edited by GregValiant

7 hours ago, GregValiant said: