My print keeps being filled in

Mutiiny

Posted · My print keeps being filled in

I'm new to printing and I'm trying to print this wheel for a model and every time I slice it Cura fills in the entire middle section. 

I have tried to search on how to fix this for hours now and no matter what settings I pick it still becomes filled. 

Appreciate any help on how to resolve this.

wCVQuu3.png

buVJvqU.png

I've had this happen a few times before. It is almost always a problem with your .stl

Try to export the model as a .3mf and see if that helps. Or try to see if you have multiple bodies in your CAD file, that can sometimes throw cura for a loop.

4 hours ago, 2021coyneo said:

I've had this happen a few times before. It is almost always a problem with your .stl

Try to export the model as a .3mf and see if that helps. Or try to see if you have multiple bodies in your CAD file, that can sometimes throw cura for a loop.

These are the files I have. Ill try to export it as .3mf 

I also got these files online.

Vossen VVSCVT Gloss Wheel separated.stl Vossen VVSCVT Gloss Wheel.stl

Posted (edited) · My print keeps being filled in

Go to the Marketplace and install the Mesh Tools plugin.  After restarting Cura and loading the "separated" file I get this view of a lot of polka-dot  surfaces indicating errors in the model.  You can also see a red area on the tire that faces upward.  That indicates surfaces that are inverted (inside out).

I'm not able to repair the model.  The tire comes out solid and that's how it would print as an assembly - the wheel would disappear inside the "solid" tire.

image.thumb.png.039a1025e56e9626be4ad228a95fec6e.png

That is just a really bad model.  Cura can't slice it and neither could PrusaSlicer or IdeaMaker.

Edited by GregValiant

On 9/17/2023 at 7:17 PM, GregValiant said: