Spider webs from hades… or excess pla stinginess

Posted (edited) · Spider webs from hades… or excess pla stinginess

This is new, but it’s also the first time I’ve run this large of a job. Also the first time I’ve intentionally tried need in Z hopping 

I started noticing strings very early in the print but that seemed normal. 23 hour later I changed filament because I didn’t estimate usage well and assumed it was an issue with the black pla and humidity or something. That was wrong as you can see the red is stringy too. 

Now remember I’m new to this so expect me to miss the obvious. 

I’m guessing this is a retraction setting problem based on my research. What I’m not sure is how to best figure out which of the settings I should be looking at since there seem to be a number of options here. Point me in the right direction please!

The 3mf and gcode are in the cura section. The “random flicking of infill” thread.  They are not small. 

IMG_2140.jpeg

Edited by jaysenodell

Posted · Spider webs from hades… or excess pla stinginess

I say huge in the context of "WTF IS THIS!?!?!???!!!!" That and the need to clean all the nubs off from the strings. It's proving to be a bit more effort than expected for a problem that didn't exist in the last runs prior to Z hop. Is there something with the Z hop that would cause this? Do I need to increase retraction amount to reduce these a bit? 

I did not adjust wipe nor randomize seams on this one either. I expect that last one might exasperate this a tad bit. 

Ok… a different project that I can’t share here is doing the same thing. Lots of “hair” blowing down wind of the cooling fan. Hair seems to originate from lift points. 

What is supper fun is the fan will suck the hair into the cage. Here I was thinking the spaniel had been napping on the printer but maybe this thing is just eating it’s own boogers. 

16 hours ago, jaysenodell said: