How do i add gcode to raise extruder to max height when print completed?

windy54

Posted · How do i add gcode to raise extruder to max height when print completed?

Hi,

I am new to CURA 5.6, also this is my first post so apologies if it is in the wrong place.

When my print is finished I want to raise the extruder to maximum height and move the bed to the front.

How do i do this?

Do I have to create a python script?

Is there no where I can just add the G-code commands?

Is this what the retract continue script does?

I have done some searching but cant find an answer, mine you baed on my past experience I have probably entered the wrong question !

thanks 

Steve

Posted · How do i add gcode to raise extruder to max height when print completed?

In the Cura go to Manage Printers and then Machine Settings.  In the lower left textbox is the "Ending Gcode".  It is the script that shuts down the machine.  Copy what you have there (use CTRL+V) and paste it here.

You need something like...

G0 F{speed_travel*60} Y{machine_depth} Z{machine_height}

Cura would replace the keywords and you would get something like

G0 F7200 Y230 Z250

But exactly where it goes in the ending gcode is important so post what you have and let us know what printer we are talking about because some have the zero in the rear and some ending gcodes include G28 homing commands or go into relative movement, so you will likely need something different.

Hoping Windy54 will forgive the intrusion by another newbie...

I just saw this thread and I've had exactly the same question, but I have a heads-up for Windy54: Any keystroke you make while within the start or end G-code windows will be there; there's no 'undo' that I could find short of re-installing the printer. Also, in my copy of v5.6.0, Start G-code is on the lower left, and End G-code is on the lower right.