PLA Blue-Translucent - Which settings

Posted · PLA Blue-Translucent - Which settings

I'm a newbie and would really appreciate some advice and guidance.

My UM2 works beautifully with the "standard" blue PLA filament that came with the printer, but it's a complete disaster when I try to print with PLA Blue Translucent filament (https://www.ultimaker.com/products/pla-blue-translucent). In particular:

• There is some under extrusion
  • The model doesn't stick as well and eventually gets pushed away by the head (despite using exactly the same glue)
  • In some instances, I end-up with filaments all over the place (it looks a little bit like a cloud of very thin filament stuck to the head and to various pieces that are being printed).

All these problems disappear when I revert back to the "standard" blue filament.

I'm assuming that I need to use slightly different settings for PLA Blue Translucent than I do for the "standard" blue? If so, what settings do people use to successfully print PLA Blue Translucent?

Thanks

Phil

If you are printing at 230 with the standard blue, I would try dropping to 210 - 200 with the translucent. I`m not an expert by the way, but I did have a 1 meter sample of that PLA and it printed fine at 210.

Three of the arms on my spool holder were printed with UM translucent blue.

https://www.youmagine.com/designs/spool-holder-for-loose-filament

230C nozzle and 75C bed IIRC, no sticking problems at all. I find at 70-75C PLA sticks to the glass like s**t to a blanket and at room temperature it just lifts off (and no glue - never used it).

(and no glue - never used it).

I'd say that is the main issue.

I only tried printing with glue once. It did not stick at all, not even a little bit :)

You might need to fine-tune your bed temperature. There can be slight differences even between 1°C steps. The material will only stick if the bed is not too cold, but also not too hot.