How do I get started?

Posted · How do I get started?

Hello!

My name is Steve and I am a beginner.

I watched some videos but am not sure how to get my first render going!

I am using the ender 3 and have my first item selected. I am scared of all these customize settings.

Should I just use the recommended settings and not customize for my first render?

There is some overhang!

Steve

The preview is your friend.  If you get the settings wrong you may make a mess, but that's about it.

Hot end temperature and bed temperature are dependent on the material.  Just use the "Standard" or "Draft" profile to start with.  Don't make a lot of changes because that will make it hard to troubleshoot later if you see things in the print that you don't like.

The arrangement of the supports are dependent on the model geometry, and yes, there are over 70 support settings.  Start with "Normal" and "Everywhere" and if they look OK go with that.  The maximum "Support Overhang Angle" is about 63 degrees.  If you set it to 50 - 55 the supports should be sufficient.  A Support-Interface is a pattern that goes on top of the main support structure.  I use "Grid" at 40 to 60% density for the interface.

Supports can be difficult to remove and leave a scar on the print.  You will learn.  A hobby knife, some small files, little screwdrivers, needlenose pliers ... tools like that can help get it out of tight places.

I've seen excellent models of the Eiffel Tower.  Don't start with one of those.  Stick to simple things to start out.  There is a learning curve to everything involved in this.

• Like 1

Posted (edited) · How do I get started?

Alright, given what you said, when should I slice the first time? And when any other times?

You said: Start with "Normal" and "Everywhere" and if they look OK go with that. How do I know it is good?

I set all of the other instructions as advised and I guess we will see what happens when I render for the first time.

Edited by champsteve778