Shifted ribs in mirrored housing parts

hugosmid

Posted · Shifted ribs in mirrored housing parts

Hi,

As I am really new to this form and Ultimaker in specific, I'm doing the wrong things with a good tool.

We started to work with Ultimaker only 2 days ago and we encounter problems as you can see in our gallery.

Poor wall quality in a 2mm wall thickness product.

Poor outside surface quality.

Shifted ribs on the inside (though we're talking ga mirrored product here!)

Bridging in the top of the housing parts is not looking good either.

Am I overlooking the possibility to tune the area where bridging takes place?

Please be so kind as to have a look at the settings we used and the very first printing results of my life I was able to generate.

On print start-up I pressed TUNE and changed fan speed to 100%, Bed temperature to 60°C and nozzle temp to 200°C.

Where can we improve?

Thanks!

Approximate settings

foto 4

foto 3

foto 2

foto 1

I assume by the temp that you're printing PLA? Myself, I get these thick bands when I try to print too cold. You could try increasing the temp. The temp is different with every brand of plastic and your own printing environment (ambient temp) and for me I have to test different temps whenever I get a new shipment of plastic. Have you tried the default Cura settings on a sample? It's a good base to start with. I think also I would increase your Bottom/Top thickness to like .8 or 1.0 and reduce your layer height to .1 I'm not a guru, but lately these things have been plaguing me as well.

Well...

You have to first understand that FDM printers don't do so well printing in thin air, right? So the underside surfaces (except where touching the glass) doesn't look so good. It looks a little spaghetti - like. This is normal and most printers can't print *anything* in thin air so this is pretty darn good for surfaces with no support. Some of the surfaces have partial support and they look a bit better.