First prints have artifacts: how to improve?

Posted · First prints have artifacts: how to improve?

Hi to all, I'm brand new to the 3D printing and UM community. I just got a UM2 a week ago and been trying to print some things with increasing levels of success. I'm still trying to catch up will all the jargon and how to address it (under extrusion, etc).

I'm trying to make an enclosure for a project and been experiencing a couple issues. The following image is blue Ultimaker PLA printed a 210 deg and 50% speed. It has a 3mm fillet all around which didn't print well. Note that it has been printed with the filet side right on the build plate (no tape or glue) without a raft or brim.

I understand you can't have strong overhangs, but what is going here? I can understand for the corner, since although it's hard to see on the picture, but all corners have peeled a bit so the extruder kept melting the corners over and over. But for the "straight" horizontal parts? Also I can seem to have clean corners on the vertical walls either. Any idea? Also

IMG_3319_t.jpg

Another artifact I noticed, is some sort of "echo" in the print next to the right notch (circled). I read from some forums posts it has to do with acceleration? How do you control this parameter in Cura, can't seem to find it (or is it only for UM1)?

IMG_3316_t.jpg

In my next test, I made a small version of the previous model, with a 1mm fillet. I used Colorfabb PLA/PHA @ 210deg, 50mm/s speed, .1mm layers and added a brim to avoid curling of the corners. Oh and I upgraded the firmware to the lastest. Still seems to be some issues:

IMG_3312_t.jpg