Heated bed on UM2 no longer reaching temperature

simon

Posted · Heated bed on UM2 no longer reaching temperature

Hi all, I've been printing fine with my UM2 for many months. My last print came detached and after a little investigative work found the bed temperature was only about 30 degrees C. I haven't changed anything with my setup for about 10 months so it's nothing I've done recently.

The UM2 screen reports back a temperature of 105 (the target temperature), but it reaches this very quickly (about 60 seconds) rather than the expected 10-15 minutes). The actual temperature is about 30 degrees even after 25 minutes.

After about 30 minutes I get:

' ERROR - STOPPED Temp Sensor Bed'

I've swapped over the heated bed for a spare, but this didn't help.

Any ideas?

Thanks

Simon

Please update your settings to indicate that you have a UM2.

Does it report the wrong temp even at room temp? At room temp it should be roughly 20C.

The bed uses a simple resistor to measure current. Turn your UM2 on it's side and remove the 2 screws to remove the larger cover. Remove the larger cover and remove the two wires that go to the temp sensor (temp2). Check the resistance. It should be about 108 ohms at 20C. Anywhere from 90 ohms to 130 ohms is probably normal. While the resistor is connected try jiggling the wires where they go into the heated bed.

You will probably next have to remove the heated bed - it's pretty easy - start with the 3 levelling screws. There's instructions elsewhere. Remove the 2 screws early on that hold the cable to the heated bed down at the back of the heated bed. I think those are the only 5 screws you need to remove (3 leveling, 2 hold down).