Functionality and UI improvements I am working on (UM2). Please comment to avoid duplicate effort

jayeye

Posted · Functionality and UI improvements I am working on (UM2). Please comment to avoid duplicate effort

I fully support the designers' decision to have a simple, can't-go-wrong UI, but I find it annoyingly limiting. Fortunately, I'm an overpaid software engineer with an EE degree, plus I've been playing with arduinos for a couple of years now, so fixing things should be easy. What I do not want to do is replicate functionality or features others have already privately developed.

So here what I'll be working on in the upcoming weeks. If people have suggestions, know where in the code (and which branch on github) these or similar feature are already present, and so on, please speak up.

1. Manually move all axes: I don't want to have to turn the machine off to position the plate and the printhead with may hands. This was possible on the UM1 (I forget whether it was through the ulticontroller or cura), and I want it back.
  2. Print at a specific location on the platform: I do not want to wait for the build plate to cool down enough so I can remove what I just printed in order to start a new print. For small parts, there is plenty of room on the build plate. I realize I can bring everything in cura again and reslice, but I may want different models sliced with different parameters, or that take too long to slice, or I may not even have the .stl any more (and working with gcode models in cura is annoying).
  3. Better control over heat-up/heat-down and filament movement. I want a "heat nozzle and keep at that temperature until I tell you otherwise, regardless of what other operations are happening", so I can control the nozzle and the filament movement during load/unload independently of each other (why? because I want to!)
  4. More information on front panel: I have already found this, so if anything it will be just minor tweaks.