UM2 extended - "clack" noise with every rotation from left stepper motor

MichaelB

Posted · UM2 extended - "clack" noise with every rotation from left stepper motor

Last week I received my Ultimaker 2 extended. I am new in 3D printing and in the past few days I played around with my new toy.

I have some issues with under extrusion, skip back noises from the feeder since the first run of the printer (the Ultimaker robot, what else). I use silver PLA, which came with the printer and did not change any values before printing.

This night after aprox. 3 hours of total printing for the machine a strange noise appeared. It comes out of the direction of the left stepper motor. With every rotation of the motor you can hear a "clack" sound. Not scary, but loud enough for me to start worrying. The printing process is not affected, visually everything (except the said issues with skip backs above) works fine.

The print ran 15 hours and the noise did not change its intensity.

If this is a not know issue, I could provide a video of the behaviour.

Thanks in advance,

Michael

Posted · UM2 extended - "clack" noise with every rotation from left stepper motor

It's probably not serious but you should fix it at some point.

There are 4 rods in the outer edges around the top of the machine. I think one of them is sliding back and forth a few mm. The next time it is printing put your fingers on the ends of each of the 4 rods and see if they move a little bit. Once you identify the loose one memorize which of the 4 rods. Later when nothing is happening you need a 2mm hex wrench (don't use inch measurements or you could strip it) preferably a 2mm hex wrench with a screwdriver handle but the L shaped wrenches are fine. Also the ones with the ball end are even better.