Every Other Print Messed Up!

darioism

Posted · Every Other Print Messed Up!

Hey all, I just got my Ultimaker 2 and have been playing with some test prints. I'm still a newbie but liking it so far!

It seems though that every other print I do gets screwed up like in the image below. If I abort and immediately queue up another print of the same part, it works fine. Then the next one after that is screwed up! I don't see why. The filament is moving smoothly. Tuning settings are not changed. There is the same delay between any two prints, so I don't think cooling is a factor.

I wanted to print four tires and now have four perfectly good tires and four scraps. Any ideas? Thanks!

5a33133376b77_20151103_210627_DouglastonPkwy.thumb.jpg.bc51d15904b3c81ee2b96bf058e6c1ba.jpg

5a33133376b77_20151103_210627_DouglastonPkwy.thumb.jpg.bc51d15904b3c81ee2b96bf058e6c1ba.jpg

That looks very strange - I've seen hundreds of things go wrong and how they look after but this one doesn't look like any of those. Maybe if you show it after just 1 or two layers - as soon as it looks different. So please post one more picture of the bottom layer - and if that looks fine show the first bad layer.

Thanks gr5. Glad to know at least I didn't miss something basic!

Here is a shot of the bottom - best I can with the lighting I have. The print on the bottom is the problematic one. It almost looks like it's a feeder issue. But, the filament is loose and feeding fine on other prints. Maybe software related. I am on the latest firmware.

For the first layer request, I'll try to reproduce the issue and abort at the first sign of trouble the next time I run the printer.

5a33133d847b8_20151105_060017_DouglastonPkwy.thumb.jpg.6fa68475a9b3f4cf39345af9f5c76fd7.jpg

5a33133d847b8_20151105_060017_DouglastonPkwy.thumb.jpg.6fa68475a9b3f4cf39345af9f5c76fd7.jpg

Actually I think the lower print looks pretty good.