Firmware upgrade for use with E3D v6

Posted · Firmware upgrade for use with E3D v6

Hi all

I know this has probably been covered else where, if so please direct me to it.

I have upgraded my UM2 to use the E3D v6 hotend using a mount I located from YouImangine and printed in ABSplus on a Dimension printer.

My problem is exactly what and how to I upgrade the firmware to take into account any issue raised with the upgrade eg maximun X height or other axis change, maximum temperature of the hotend etc.

I am not a programmer so am asking the experts for precise instructions.

Your help is greatly welcome.

Graeme Craig

Posted (edited) · Firmware upgrade for use with E3D v6

Start reading from here on how to compile firmware;

https://ultimaker.com/en/community/7436-more-information-during-print?page=6

In your case I assume you use the PT100 temp sensor, so no need for a firmware change there.

Changing the maximum temperature:

Change in "Configuration.h", look for  "#define HEATER_1_MAXTEMP"

You need to change the PID settings to get a stable temperature, use auto tune PID, read f.e. here, or rearch the forum.

https://ultimaker.com/en/community/7624-regarding-pid-auto-tune-with-um2

http://reprap.org/wiki/PID_Tuning

I got good results doing the autotune at +- 250c, not sure but I used a higher temperature.

fill in the 3 values in configuration.h

#define  DEFAULT_Kp

#define  DEFAULT_Ki

#define  DEFAULT_Kd

I can share my E3Dv6 values on UM2, but not now as I'm not at home....

I personally like the @tinkergnome firmware, I took this as a base;

https://ultimaker.com/en/community/7436-more-information-during-print?page=11#reply-125341

Regarding the max X height, I assume you mean the changed gantry height of the machine, which can cause you to knock over parts in one-at-a-time mode, you change this in the machine setting of Cura (old cura) or in the .json file of the machine, in the installation folder of New Cura (=beta).

Edited by Guest