Advise on printing the Yoda Bust from Thinkiverse

c9158183

Posted · Advise on printing the Yoda Bust from Thinkiverse

Dear all

I am new to the 3D printing world. I finished building my Ultimaker about two weeks ago and had successfully printed the 0.5mm-thin-wall and 20mm-box objects with Cura 12.08. I then challenged the Yoda Bust (

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:10650

) scaled to 2/3 of its original and sliced by Cura with 'High Quality Print' then printed with PrintRun.

I encountered printing problem (as in first attached photo) on the chin part which started as an standalone printing area in Layer View screen in PrintRun (circled red in second attached photo). I believed there was no material beneath to support and hold the chin in place hence caused the printing problem.

image.thumb.jpg.f5fa6c9f372c7123fd8d8260ab54c49f.jpg

image.thumb.jpg.429e1154daec67b4a1f4a1e5974025bb.jpg

May I know from your experience on how to cope with this standalone printing area without support from the base? Should the 'Print Support Structure' function in Cura be used but I watched so many videos in web on successful print of this bust without support from the base. Or should I edit the GCode to remove the standalone printing areas for the chin until it is a part of the head?

Your advice is very much appreciated.

Chris

that's good old fashioned post-processing for you.

I'm not sure scaling isn't part of the reason you're having problems - you may create additional overhangs etc.

but what are you going to do with a yoda bust anyway? there's lots more awesome things to print ;)

Most people post-process the yoda after printing, with a knife.

Daid, thank you for your advice! Those videos made me think I can print the bust without support structure. I will get some tools for the post-processing and print the bust again :)

that's good old fashioned post-processing for you.