Big frisbee print shifting in Y and X halfway in print - firmware bug?

gadgetfreak

Posted · Big frisbee print shifting in Y and X halfway in print - firmware bug?

Hi,

I've been using my Ultimaker for almost two years.

I'm mostly using Cura (13.03 now) and I have upgrade to the v2 hotend and the v2 extruder and v3 bolt.

Most of my models print fine, some really great.

But this is the first time I print something really large in X and Y (the whole of the print bed).

I modeled a frisbee (a flying disc of the "disc golf" type) and I'm trying to print it full size (about 20cm in diameter).

I scaled it to the max with external support in Cura 13.03.

The firmware I have is from Cura 13.03 as well ("Ultimaker: 13.03").

Now, halfway into the print (about half the height, total height in about 1,5cm), both the actual model and the support structure has shifted 8.5mm, mostly in Y direction, a little bit in X direction.

IMG 1132

IMG 1140

In Cura, the model looks fine after slicing:

2013 04 26 frisbee In cura 13 03

In RepetierHost the model looks fine after importing the same gcode I ran (used the Ulticontroller to start it) during the print:

2013 04 26 frisbee In repetier host

Could this be a firmware bug?

Other models I have print fine (although not as large in X and Y as this one)...

Thanks for any troubleshooting help.

/Daniel

Most likely it's just skipped steps due to additional friction on one of the fast moves, causing the head to lose track of its position at some point.. All further parts of the print then happen slightly offset.

Might well be due to the large size of the print causing the head to stray into the corners that it doesn't often visit - there might be a more friction due to less lubrication or slightly misaligned axes in the corners.