New to 3D Printing - Problems with Stringing

revolutton

Posted · New to 3D Printing - Problems with Stringing

I recently received an Ultimaker3 for my 20th birthday and am still new to 3D printing. I have tried all the basics, changing the head movement speed and lowering temperature. I have read the Ultimaker help guide on how to fix and followed the steps. I have used the Ultimaker PLA and another brand of filament (X3D PLA) and the stringing occurs with both. I was playing around in CURA to try and fix the stringing and the only thing that seemed to make a difference was the layer height. The thicker the layer height the less the problem. Photos attached. I would appreciate any help as I am rather new at this and still getting the hang of it all. Is this amount of stringing normal? Thanks heaps.

0.06mm

0_06mm.thumb.jpg.5270109dc964daf85a3b5af8777e0b77.jpg

0.1mm

0_1mm.thumb.jpg.7c89b1ec60fc0fef9fb9230fb845d904.jpg

0.15mm

0_15mm.thumb.jpg.07582be27eb806fe819e471d0f326100.jpg

0.2mm

5a333f347b463_0_2mm.thumb.jpg.f5beb6985f1fd1ac5d375d41c3d4adfc.jpg

0_06mm.thumb.jpg.5270109dc964daf85a3b5af8777e0b77.jpg

0_1mm.thumb.jpg.7c89b1ec60fc0fef9fb9230fb845d904.jpg

0_15mm.thumb.jpg.07582be27eb806fe819e471d0f326100.jpg

5a333f347b463_0_2mm.thumb.jpg.f5beb6985f1fd1ac5d375d41c3d4adfc.jpg

How low did you go in temperature? (and can you go into your profile settings for this forum and mark that you have a UM3?).

I'm doing some prints right now on a UM3 and had to lower by 10C to stop stringing. Don't be afraid to go all the way down to 180C.

Although I have to say the final picture looks quite good as far as strings are concerned. Towards the end (top) it stopped retracting because Cura won't let you retract more than about 20 times on the same spot of filament (or you can grind the filament - in fact I usually set this to 10).

So I think you were successful.