UM2 Nozzle lifetime? or Badly Clogged Nozzle..

smorgana

Posted (edited) · UM2 Nozzle lifetime? or Badly Clogged Nozzle..

Well I've been printing on my UM2 for over 3 years... getting very good prints out of it.

One time in those 3 years the nozzle got clogged.. and I used the atomic method and started working nicely again.

But now I had a lot of trouble with a print.. and it was because it was not extruding enough material.. I got like hairs width material out of it..

So I did the atomic method again and yes... it pulled out some burnt crud.. then it started flowing normally again.

So thinking the cause might be dusty filament... The first print I did after cleaning was to make a dust cleaner...

That print came out great...    The machine sat till the next night... and in my next attempt I was back where I started...   Hardly any material comes out on a material change.. or if I use Move Material...

So I tried the atomic method again.. but in this case I couldn't get any material to flow out the nozzle when I pushed the filament in..  after a few tries I got a fine thread ,but very littl.

When I do the atomic method I never get what I'd call a complete cone shape on the scrap filament.   And it seems as if there is a clog closer to the output end of the nozzle...

So my question is... am I just at the end of life for this nozzle?  Or is there some way I can clear this one..  Am I just doing the atomic method wrong?

Edited by Guest

Posted · UM2 Nozzle lifetime? or Badly Clogged Nozzle..

I guess I should have titled this post "Badly clogged nozzle" anyways...

I've done reading on the forum and it's clear from photos that people have posted that I'm not fully implementing the atomic method... People get actual cone shaped pointed material pulled out...

One post though had what might help.. using ABS (I am), they heated up to 260... I've only heated up to 240...