Drv 8825 help plz

Shell

Posted · Drv 8825 help plz

Hi all been working on this printer for weeks still haven't managed to get a decent print. My issue at is had a dead a4988 driver so I went online and bought 5 drv8825 drivers.. I replaced the broken a4988 driver with the new drv8825 now my extruder stepper doesn't take a full step just a half arsed attempt ( iv tyred increasing the voltage) As I'm new to all this and don't know anyone with a 3d printer my guess is its something to do with the a4988 being 1/32 steps and drv8825 being 1/32 steps.. how can I fix this issue any help will be most appreciated.. thankss

Need more info.  Is this a UMO?  Does your printer have Marlin?  1/32 = 1/32 so I think you have a typo on one of those "32"s in your post.

Know this:  if you increase current too much you can blow out the driver in about 1/4 of a second.  Having too much current looks similar to having too little current (the stepper has very little power, may step the wrong way or shake back and forth).

If everything is fine but one axis is moving exactly half as far as you command (ask it to move 100mm and if it moves 50mm...), then this is very easy to fix in the firmware.  You would want to double your steps/mm.  If you have a UMO you can edit this probably most easily here:

FOR UMO these builders are great:
    https://bultimaker.bulles.eu/
    http://marlinbuilder.robotfuzz.com/

I also recommend you get pronterface which allows you to explore things like steps/mm and I think you can change the steps/mm without building a new Marlin.  Pronterface runs on windows only I think and you can get it here:

http://koti.kapsi.fi/~kliment/printrun/

Thanks for your quick reply.. ye my error one of the 32 is a 16 oops..