3D Printing in Art Education

Zach - Art Education

Posted · 3D Printing in Art Education

Hi- I'm an elementary art teacher in Ohio and I did some fundraising a couple of years ago to get an Ultimaker 2+ for my classroom. I was excited to incorporate this level of technology into my art curriculum, but I didn't know exactly what kind of lessons to write to go along with 3D printing. I'm posting to share a bit of my story and also see what other art (or other) teachers are doing with their 3D printers. 

Last year, I had about 250 4th and 5th graders design objects using Tinkercad. I set an extremely loose framework for the project because I really wanted to see what the students were capable of creating. I had some amazing work as well as some very pedestrian designs.

IMG_2547.thumb.JPG.85f0e552c3982abe58e33a0cdc9102a1.JPG

This year was my second year teaching 3D design for the printer. My 5th grade students studied architecture and each created a building of their own design. My plan is to display them as a large city. I have over half of the buildings printed at this point and it looks pretty fantastic. 

IMG_9445.thumb.jpg.8ce416cae85016f7fb31685ba6861068.jpgIMG_9360.thumb.JPG.aa371b9cb0bd13b439f69f3f53580a49.JPGIMG_9783.thumb.jpg.94846e382123c9be5cde76564e690c48.jpgIMG_9781.thumb.jpg.d84fcb02b350776f9b8a0c9a6505fe0a.jpg

My 4th grade project is a pencil topper design. The project allows for a lot of creative freedom, but the size is constrained so the printing will go a bit faster. Students are finished with their designs, but I won't be able to print until the 5th grade buildings are finished. 

• Like 6

54 minutes ago, gr5 said:

You might like these ideas from educators although I think your current ideas are great:

https://ultimaker.com/download/73369/Contributor_Cards.pdf

Thanks! There is a wealth of art project out there, but next to nothing for 3D printing in the art room. I'm the Louis and Clark of art educators apparently.