Noob question about internal fillings...

Posted · Noob question about internal fillings...

Hi there! 

So I'm brand new to 3d modeling. Just sketched up my first design in Sketch Up, exported the STL file over into Cura, but now I see that it is completely hollow. Is there a way to auto fill some type of gradient to the inside of the design or do I have to build it in some how in Sketch Up? I'd really rather not just have walls and empty space inside. I can provide pictures and files if need be! 

Thank you! 

sketchup is a bit dangerous with 3d prints - it's better for virtual models - not physical models - so if you haven't spend a hundred hours learning sketchup I strongly advise you to stop right now and use something else.  Here's a guide to pick CAD:

https://www.gliffy.com/go/publish/5271448

However if you really want to stick with sketchup then you need to completely read this guide and understand it.  Particularly about the reversing walls part:

https://i.materialise.com/blog/3d-printing-with-sketchup/

Now to answer your question - I think I need a screenshot of your stl in cura in normal view, xray view, and layer view to understand what you are talking about.  By default I think cura does a 20% to 30% infill which should fill in your part with a criss-cross kind of pattern in the "solid" areas.  If you set infill to 100% you should get solid parts.  But that's a huge waste of money and time for no inmprovment in strength.  The gradient thing you speak of is called "gradual infill" and it's a great feature - I use it all the time.

But I think there is something lost in the translation - I strongly suspect your sketchup model has some serious issues that are confusing cura thus causing these "hollow" things you speak of.

• Like 1

Hey!