Ultimaker for Architecture project

a-max

Posted · Ultimaker for Architecture project

Hello guys,

I'm an architecture student and currently I'm thinking about buying an Ultimaker to help me create a physical model of my building concept, that's part of my graduation project due in September. However since it's quite pricey for a student, 5 months salary, i'm not sure if it's the right tool for the job.

That being said, I've installed Cura to get an estimate regarding the material per module as well as time needed to print each module (total 41modules- with a total size of 2.1m x 1m x 12cm).Initially it was like almost 3 weeks to print all modules (5hours for each module, 2 modules/day) and 8 roles of PLA.

This proved to be quite time consuming and costly, however I've played with the settings and would like to know if they are correct and that for an architecture print these settings would come up with decent results, I'm confortable of doing some post production using a dremel afterwards.

2irubfs.png

2it3sj.png

2zf07eq.png

Hi, and welcome!

While I won't say it's impossible to get good results printing the sort of pieces that you show here with an Ultimaker, it's going to take you quite a lot of practice to get good results. The main challenge is going to be supporting both the curves and the straight line parts. The printer cannot lay down plastic over thin air, so there needs to be proper support under the curves. You also need to make sure that the piece stays in place while it is printed, so you need good contact with the print bed. For both those reasons, almost all the parts that you show oriented vertically in your screen shots would need to be laid down flat on the bed.