Ultimaker Community of 3D Printing Experts
Caylamayla

Overlap in Layers

Hello all, I am new to Cura and am not sure if I am doing anything wrong, but when I slice my objects it seems as though there is multiple layers in one pass of the head. I am doing a 2 color print with a duel head. The print is of a cylinder than has other cylinders inside of it of a different color. The outer color of the cylinder is clear so it looks like the cylinders inside are floating. I took the time and made the part in Solidworks including the holes. I then made each individual little cylinder and manually placed them in the holes and merged them in cura. I thought this would work because of the existing holes in the model, but when I preview it is looks like the outer Cylinder does not have the holes and they are being passed over twice (Picture below). 

layer problem cura.PNG

cura.PNG

Edited by Caylamayla
Uploaded another picture

This is what cura is supposed to do.  Print what you tell it to print.  Cura does not do volume XOR or volume subtraction.

Instead try to do this operation in solidworks - it might be called "boolean subtract".  I've never used solidworks but it can definitely do this.

I have already used the volume subtraction feature in solidworks and there are supposed to be holes in the part. (pictured below) They are not showing up in cura. I will reload the part and just try to print it without the solids. Is there any other way to create different colors in parts that are completely encased or am I doing it the easiest way? 

The holes are in the main frame and then I made small cylinders that fit perfectly in the voids.

Thank you for your fast reply!

sectioned.PNG

sectioned2.PNG

Edited by Caylamayla