Ordering Kit to Canada!

Posted · Ordering Kit to Canada!

Hello Ultimaker forum!

I just posted a large greeting in the Welcome section, and I'll be ordering a kit to canada, the extra controller, a spare hot end thing, and 3 rolls of extra filament (4 with the free silver one)

I'm really excited as I've been researching this technology for a few months now and I'm ready to take it on! I'm really glad I'll be having some help from a friend to put it together, it looks really complicated!

I've made the decision to send payment from my bank, as I don't really like the idea of paypal wanting to attach directly to your bank account :/ .. I've never been told I couldn't use a credit card before - strange, I've used it hundreds of times with no problems, Meh'

Anyway I'll keep you all posted on the progress and experience!

Cheers! from Canada!

Hi Alice

I've just completed the assembly last week - wasn't that difficult. Just read the instructions carefully and follow them. It took me several days, but I managed to get everything done without any problems. I can only recommend reading through the forums while you're waiting for the UM to arrive. Lots of information here to avoid problems!

You might want to get some stuff:

- light machine oil (also called "sewing machine oil" in german), I found it in a DIY store, car department

- Fine, flat pliers (don't know how this is called exactly in english, picture:

KN3562145_600.gif

- Optionally a screw wrench (coach wrench) for tightening nuts

And that should be it... I wouldn't recommend using an electric screwdriver. I used one for some parts, it's prone to overtighten the bolts.

Btw I paid with PayPal, no problems there. You don't have to link it to your bank account or credit card, you can just make a payment on your PayPal account and then spend the money from there. PayPal can't access your bank account itself.

/edit:

I forgot: I strongly recommend getting better pulleys. Check out this topic: