What's the point of ABS?

Rocket

Posted · What's the point of ABS?

I'm very new to printing and have been experimenting with various filaments and just can't find a scenario where I'd use ABS.  Does it have any situation where it is the best choice compared to Tough PLA/Nylon or CPE?

I would say nowadays there are a lot of alternatives for ABS, so you don't need it. ABS has a lot of disadvantages, toxic fumes, warping and so on, but it was a material with a higher glass transition temperature, so it was the material of choice for a part you want to leave in a car in summer.

But now there are a lot of other materials which have an even better strength and a similar or higher glass transition temperature. So in my point of view, there is no more need to print with ABS.

I use ToughPLA or CPE (maybe CPE+) or any other PETG material if I want to have strength and higher temperature resistance.

Sometimes I use ASA which is similar to ABS for outdoor things like a bird feeder or something like that because ASA has excellent resistance against UV light.

I once read that originally ABS wire was the easiest available, in the beginning of 3D-printing, because it was also used for other purposes.

But today I wouldn't use it anymore. I use PLA for most standard models, and PET or NGEN (thus sort of polyesters) for things that need to be a bit more flexible (e.g. for snap-fit lockings), and for higher temperatures in a car.

ABS has really good cold impact strength.  It's also very easy to print, more forgiving than PLA.  If I could only choose those between PLA and ABS I would take ABS.  However as Smithy stated above ASA is superior to both of those especailly for a part that will be outside or see UV.

Posted (edited) · What's the point of ABS?