ChangeAtZ: at which layer or height exactly ?

Erik_Es

Posted (edited) · ChangeAtZ: at which layer or height exactly ?

In the ChangeAtZ plugin you enter the height at which you want the change to happen, either by height or by layer number.

For a test print (I'm new to Cura 3, have been using 14.7 for years now...) I set the plugin to start the fan at layer 8 (so no fan for the first 7 layers). However, the fan then starts AFTER printing 8 layers, so at the start of the 9th layer.

This seems wrong, unless perhaps the layer numbers are the same as in the gcode, where the first layer (layer 1 in my book) is actually called layer 0.

To avoid this numbering confusion, it is perhaps better to use height instead of layer number. But that is also a bit confusing. For instance, let's say I want to print a bottom of 1 mm thickness without fan, then start the fan the moment it starts printing the next layer above that, which would be at height 1,2 mm (using layer height 0.2 mm). Which value for height should I then enter in the plugin ?

And do I have to take into account that the first layer is thicker ? So if initial layer is 0.3 mm and layer height is 0.2 mm, should I enter 1,3 mm in the plugin if I want to start the fan immediately after printing a "1 mm" bottom (which is actually 1,1 mm because of the thicker first layer) ?

(I have found (with Cura 14.7) that you don't have to account for this extra thickness (unless using layer height < 0.1 mm), because the action set in the plugin will happen in the first layer that reaches the set height OR goes a bit PAST the set height. But I am curious to know if it works like that in Cura 3.6 as well.)

So to condense this in 3 simple questions:

- does the plugin change the value at the start or at the end of the set layer number or height ?

- in the plugin, is the first layer called layer 1 or layer 0 ?

- when using height instead of layer number, do I have to adjust the value for the extra thickness in the first layer ?